Prosciutto Wrapped Rosemary, Sage Chicken with Fontiago Cheese

100_0307

This dish was inspired by one of my favorite meals at an Italian restaurant that I would frequent a few times a month. They called it Emily Anna. I called it Heaven on a plate. Imagine a large chicken breast stuffed with prosciutto and fontina cheese and grilled to perfection, then topped with a mouth watering lemon basil sauce. Sadly, the place has been closed for a few years now, but I still get a craving for that delicious chicken dish. So, I came up with my own version.

Instead of stuffing the prosciutto inside the chicken, I wrapped it around the chicken to give it a nice, crispy texture. No, there is no basil lemon sauce here, but a butter rosemary-sage compound that is smeared…can’t think of a more elegant word than smeared…all over the top of the chicken, then stuffed with Fontiago cheese. No, that is not a typo. I myself had never heard of Fontiago cheese before until we had a chance meeting at my local gourmet grocery store. It’s a combination of Fontina and Asiago cheese. The best of both cheese worlds in my opinion.

Hubby has asked for this chicken version several occasions, so to me that’s two forks up in my kitchen. I hope you feel the same.

Here’s what you need:

100_0282

 

Boneless, skinless chicken breasts, dried sage, dried cracked rosemary, butter, Fontiago or Fontina cheese, thin slices of prosciutto.

100_0285

Set out 3 Tbs. of butter for about 30 minutes to soften.

You can try softening it in the microwave, but if you are like me, it ends up going way beyond soft….more like an exploding melted puddle.

100_0288

 

Place butter in a small dish, and add sage and rosemary.

100_0292

Mix to incorporate the herbs into the butter.

I know, looking at the picture it does look a little…well…non desirable. But I can assure you, the taste is amazing.

100_0294

Cut a small pocket on one side of a chicken breast.

This, for me, took practice. Those cooking shows make it look so easy don’t they? Most of the time I ended up cutting through the pocket and just made a huge hole. I learned that for me, it’s easier to use a small knife instead of a larger one, like a paring knife.

100_0295

Look ma, no holes.

100_0297

Take one slice of cheese and insert it into the pocket.

As I know you have probably noticed my fingers are covered in butter and you are probably thinking…hmmm she didn’t say rub the butter onto the chicken yet. I have to admit that when I made this, I smeared the butter onto the chicken before adding the cheese, and..well…it was messy. Then I had that -waaaait a minute duh- moment when I realized I should add the cheese, then the butter.

100_0296

Next, smear the butter on top of the chicken.

 

100_0298

 

Lay one slice of proscuitto over the chicken breast. If the slice is too short to wrap around the whole breast, tuck the edges under the chicken.

 

100_0299

Then take another slice and lay it across the first slice of prosciutto, also tucking the edges under the chicken breast if it does not go completely around.

100_0300

Preheat oven to 400.

In a large oven proof pan, add 1 Tbs. of butter and olive oil. Heat to medium high.

100_0301

Add the chicken with the prosciutto covered side down, in the pan. Cook about 5 minutes, then carefully turn the chicken over and cook 5 minutes more on the other side.

100_0302

Turn chicken over one more time and place into the oven. Cook for 15 minutes or until chicken is no longer pink.

Serve with your favorite side dish.

Enjoy!

 

Prosciutto Wrapped Rosemary, Sage Chicken with Fontiago Cheese

Ingredients:

Boneless, skinless chicken breasts
2 1/2 tsp. dried sage
2 1/2 tsp. dried rosemary
3 Tbs. butter plus 1 Tbs
Fontiago or Fontina cheese, sliced
Thinly sliced prosciutto

Directions:

Set out 3 Tbs. of butter for about 30 minutes to soften. Place butter in a small dish, and add sage and rosemary; mix to incorporate the herbs into the butter.

Cut a small pocket on one side of a chicken breast. Take one slice of cheese and insert it into the pocket. Next, smear the butter mixture on top of the chicken.

Lay one slice of prosciutto over the chicken breast. If the slice is too short to wrap around the whole breast, tuck the edges under the chicken.Place another slice across the first slice of prosciutto, also tucking the edges under the chicken breast if it does not go completely around.
Preheat oven to 400.

In a large oven proof pan, add 1 Tbs. of butter and olive oil. Heat to medium high.
Add the chicken with the prosciutto covered side down, in the pan. Cook about 5 minutes, then carefully turn the chicken over and cook 5 minutes more on the other side.

Turn chicken over one more time and place into the oven. Cook for 15 minutes or until chicken is no longer pink.

 

 

 

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a comment